Tournament Introduction

Review of the Korea Open tournamant to achieve
the Renaissance of Korean golf
The Kolon Korea-open golf championship
  • 1958s ~ 1980s
    - 11th September 1958 1st opening of Korea-open golf championship tournament, inviting Moody from U.S.A, the champion
    - 1999 Korean golf association (current Korea golf association) begins hosting of tournaments
    - 1970 Parallel hosting of Asian Circuit tournament
    - 1982 separated hosting of Asian Circuit tournament
    koreaopen championship awards photo
  • 1990's
    - 1990s Commencement of joint host between Korea Golf Association and Kolon corporation, inviting PGA tour's star player Scott, the champion of the tournament
    - 1995 Elevates as the nation's biggest awarding tournament($400,000)
    - 1996 renaming tournament title (ELORD hosted Korea-open championship)
    - 1998 renaming tournament title (Kolon hosted Korea-open championship), proceeded simultaneously with ASIA PGA tour special event.
    player photo
  • 2000's
    - 5 October 2000 hosting the 43rd Kolon-hosted
    Korea-open golf championship
    - 12 September 2001 hosted under tournament's official subtitle 2001
    KOLON KOREA OPEN. Invited Super star players were
    Nicholas Faldo, Paul Lorry.
    - 5 September 2002 Invited "the European golf's Lucifer" Sergio Garcia
    who ranked champion, recording Korea Golf's lowest hits (265)
    - 9 October 2003 hosted the 46th Korea Open golf championship by
    moving the stage to Woojeong hills.
    Invited "the century's longest hitter" John Deli and Lora Davis
    for gender competition
    - 9 September 2004 evaluated as world-class tournament after
    adopting US PGA tour game employment
    method and course settings
    - 2005 Simultaneously held joint title with Hana-Bank
    - 2006 Invitation of Retief Goosen, Bubba Watson
    - 2007 Invitation of Vijay Singh
    - 2008 Invitation of Anthony Kim, Ian Poulter
    - 2009 Invitation of Danny Lee, Rory McIlroy
    - 2010 Invitation of Anthony Kim, Y.E. Yang and Danny Lee
    - 2011 Invitation of Rory McIlroy, Rickie Fowler
    - 2012 Invitation of Ishikawa Ryo
    - 2013 Invitation of Rory McIlroy
    - 2014 Total prize money increased to KRW 1,200,000,000 from KRW1,000,000,000 (Winner's Share KRW 300,000,000)
    - 2017 Given the right to participate in The Open Golf Championship(1st winner and 2nd place winner)

    player photo